Emperor Marcus Aurelius
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Pages: 106

Divided into 12 parts that chronicle the emperor’s life, the books were written for his own use. A central theme to Meditations is to analyze your judgement of self and others and developing a cosmic perspective. As he said “You have the power to strip away many superfluous troubles located wholly in your judgement, and to possess a large room for yourself embracing in thought the whole cosmos, to consider everlasting time, to think of the rapid change in the parts of each thing, of how short it is from birth until dissolution, and how the void before birth and that after dissolution are equally infinite”. He advocates finding one’s place in the universe and sees that everything came from nature, and so everything shall return to it in due time. It seems at some points in his work that we are all part of a greater construct thus taking a communitarian approach rather than ...
Amazon Rating:
4.5 stars from 1,706 ratings
BookLending.com Rating:
Not yet rated