Trey Holt
ASIN: B00XLN2ELQ
Publisher: Amazon Digital Services LLC
Pages: 444

As featured on Nashville Public Radio -- A new Southern Gothic novel that will appeal to fans of William Faulkner, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. Based on actual events, Bottomland is the story of the murder of a young woman in Franklin, Tennessee. Set in 1953, it explores the social mores of the town itself and the personalities of all involved, from the townspeople, to the police, to the killers. Told from the perspective of a 17-year-old high school senior who has just fallen in love for the first time, Bottomland reflects Franklin's evolution from the Civil War through World War II and segregation, while chronicling the narrator's family history and coming of age. The story unfolds over the four day period during which the the body and the perpetrators remain unidentified. Reviewers say: "Holt's character-work is first-class, and his clever ...
Amazon Rating:
3 stars from 264 ratings
BookLending.com Rating:
Not yet rated