Barrie Pitt
ASIN: B07RS5945Z
Publisher: Sharpe Books
Pages: 427

The Crucible of War: Book 1‘The definitive work on the Desert War.’ Manchester Evening NewsWavell’s Command is the first of the three volumes of The Crucible of War. Volume 1 of The Crucible of War trilogy covers General Wavell’s command, a period that began triumphantly with the rout of the Italian Army and ended in catastrophe with the devastating entry of Rommel into the conflict. On 11th June 1940, Mussolini declared war on Britain and France. From their colony in Libya, the Italians began invading Egypt in an attempt to expand their African Empire. Thus began the Desert War – a battle to secure critical Middle East oil supplies which would last for three years. Commander-in-Chief of the Middle East was General Sir Archibald Wavell. By 1940, and with limited resources, he was responsible for all British land forces in Egypt, the Sudan, Palestine, Transjordan and Cyprus, as well as ...
Amazon Rating:
4.5 stars from 82 ratings Rating:
Not yet rated